jump to navigation

40° N. On the same parallel. By Matteo Scarpa May 20, 2013

Posted by usbngo in Older Posts.
trackback

I’m just sliding on an imaginary line drawn on our mother Earth. 40° N. Going East.

Henry Miller is stuck on my mind again. Do you know him? I don’t know him, neither. I’ve never met him but cannot get rid of his most famous quote out of my mind. It’s chasing me in every step of my life.

They said me: “In three days you’ll leaving, pack your stuff!”

Image

Destination: 40° 38′ 0″ N.

Bene, Vado!

“Κανείς δε μένει χωρίς πατρίδα, όσο θα υπάρχει Θεσσαλονίκη.” (Νικηφόρος Χούμνος)

I would have learnt that some days later.

No doubt about it.

Fate, sometimes plays with you and you recognize it just after. Laughter and smile will appear on your face if you take it just as it is. You move on. You just move. You know you’ll miss your friends but you move. You move for the sake of that hungry soul you bring inside.

I’m coming back to a place to which I just happened to pass by in November 2011. Few days here on the Greek soil were enough to see the beauty of a culture that has never lost its charm. How many times around Europe, Greek friends have told me “Una faza una raza” [“One face, one race”] with that greek-italian accent. That’s more than just a saying, that’s a pure truth. Astonish people and smell flavors of history everywhere, again and more. Clouds of smoke, cozy taverns, sounds and traditions, dancing feet and loud voices. Seems I’ve never moved so closer to my home.

Image

Flashbacks walking downtown makes you take unknown paths unconsciously knowing already were you are going to end up. Mystery of human minds, reality of human life. My life here and now. That’s nothing more going on through my mind.

I just contemplate the city up from the Heptapyrgion. Blue immense sea after a crowded and indistinct mess of houses and buildings, all spiced up with a stunning sunset that can recharge you in no time.

On these coordinates I just started to make things happen. On these coordinates mother Earth can feel my steps now, who knows till when. In the meantime Henry Miller reappears and slowly shows me that new way.

“One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.”

Henry Miller

Image

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

